What I’ve Learned: Masquerade

All the world’s a stage,
And all the men and women merely players;
They have their exits and their entrances,
And one man in his time plays many parts,
His acts being seven ages.

~ William Shakespeare

People define us by our actions. If you steal something, people label you as a thief. Even if your reason for stealing might be just, you will still be labeled as a thief and treated accordingly.

People wear masks on a daily basis. Some wear it to protect themselves, others wear it because the mask is more liked by others than their true self. Let me tell you a story about a fellow coworker who is always overly cheery. When I first met her, I thought that she knows who she is and knows what makes her happy, and that’s good. Then I heard a number of occasions where that same coworker flared up quite horrifically on others. I thought to myself, really. Are they talking about the same person? This behavior came off shocking to me because it was in contrary to how she always acted.

I still don’t know which of the mask is her true self, but what it highlighted was that we all wear masks.

16 thoughts on “What I’ve Learned: Masquerade

  1. do you think showing a different side to different people is being – deceitful or are you just saying….. I;m sorry I am very tired. This woman who is cheery to you and horrid to others do you feel like one is her true self and one is her ego self or that she possibly has no idea of her true self so has different sides to her ego self – because i guess being your true self you are the same person – true to…. you can be your true self and still be more quiet or more loud or more joking or more serious depending on your company – or is that too living through your ego self….why do you get me so confused in the morning? 🙂

    • I don’t think it’s being deceitful. Think of it like this. We’re like an onion – the skins of layers represent a superficial part of ourselves, and the core of the onion represents our true self. Haven’t you noticed that when you start a relationship with a person, the more involved you get with each other, the more things you discover that you weren’t aware of when the relationship just started?

      • oh like an Ogre then…Ogres are like onions…they have layers…gotcha. Yes of course because we don;t reveal our whole selves right away… I once dated a guy that started to smell like an onion after the first month or so….phew..
        Good Analogy – you know how I like my mental imagery 🙂

      • oh no…not a chance. I like my men …like I …wait…I gotta start over – just at the I like my men part not the whole comment….
        *ahem*
        I like my men to NOT smell like onions… or boiled chicken either – that;s prety bad too bleh! 😀

  2. Pingback: Signs Your Body Has Been Taken Over by an Alien | linda vernon humor

  3. I don’t see how we interact with others as wearing masks as such, more as playing different roles. Have you ever noticed how some people even change their voice when in the company of others? It’s weird isn’t it, like we put on a certain act dependent upon whom we are with? Not many people show their true face to the world but the world would be a better place if they did.

  4. nuggetsandpearls – do you not think showing one facet of a personality can still be part of a true face? I act completely differently with my girl when she’s sick than I do when I’m out drinking with the boys, but both are true faces…

    • To be honest, I’m not sure! I suppose what you’re saying is that you are ‘yourself’ regardless of whose company you are in. Often we can be with others and not entirely be ‘ourselves’ because maybe we are influenced by them, or maybe we passify them just to keep them sweet – hence my uncertainty. I agree that we all show many facets and many are also our true self, to be one-dimensional would be very, very boring!

Leave a Reply

