Sex — The Greatest Act Man Could Engage In

Sex is great. It’s one of the greatest acts that man could engage in. Is sex wrong? A very loaded question.

Believers vs Non-believers
For a non-believer, of course not! How can something that’s so natural ever be “wrong”? I can empathize, truly I can. But for a christian, it’s not right. Why? Why should non-believers have all that fun…

The Book of Guidelines
…Because Christians are given a book which outlines how s/he should live his/her life as best as possible — granted as a christian you will falter along the way because we’re still human — if you want to inherit the Kingdom of Heaven — a Christian’s ultimate goal.

1 Thessalonian chapter 4 tells us [Christians] that our sanctification is the will of God and that we should abstain from sexual immorality because the Lord called us [Christians] not for sexual immorality, but for holiness and honor and if we disregard this, we disregard not man but God who gave his spirit onto us.

Conclusion
I believe that some Christians are too judgmental and hypocritical. The same can be said for non-believers. When one Christians condemns something, you guys [non-Christians] cast a huge net on all Christians and condemn everything we say or do.

We all were blessed with the gift of life, and we all have to live it as we see fit. Christians live their lives according to the will of God, and non-Christians live their lives as they see fit. However, it is written in the Book of Guidelines that a Christian should always try and help out his brother, that’s why some Christians tend to “preach” to non-Christians.

Everyone is different. We won’t necessarily share the same thoughts on topical issues. When we ALL (Christians and non-Christians alike) begin to truly accept that, and start focusing on the bigger issues, as Jefferson said; the world will truly be a better place.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Sex — The Greatest Act Man Could Engage In

  1. Pingback: Watch your thoughts… | Amor's Thoughts

  2. As an atheist Buddhist, your point of view sits very uneasily with me. Not only is it barely possible to get two christian teachers agree on what is in the bible and what it means, most operate on a “pick and choose” basis. How can you live your life “according to the will of god” if that “will of god” is impossible to determine?

    I give you an example: only a few days ago in Belgium, parliament voted an extension to our euthanasia laws, allowing minors to decide themselves to be euthanised. The Belgian archbishop Leonard led the faithful in a prayer wake in a last-bid attempt to stop this law which, according to him, goes against the most fundamental and basic principles of christianity and the holy sanctity of life as a gift of god and not for man to dispose of. Leonard being an archbishop for sure must know god’s will. They prayed for god to grant wisdom to the politicians to vote against this law.

    The law was voted with great majority and yes, even some representatives for the christian parties voted in favor.

    So this leaves me with several conclusions:
    1. There is no god.
    2. There is a god but he cannot be bothered with what we do or not. For all practical reasons, this is the same as 1.
    3.There is a god but it has really different views of sanctity of life, &c and the views as put forward by his teachers, churches and people on earth are plainly wrong. If so, then the churches are not his representatives and are false. However, as god does not strike these false churches down, perhaps she cannot be bothered one way or another. Which leads to conclusion 2.
    4. There is a god, he can be bothered, the views of the archbishop are correct, but god is powerless to act. Then, why bother?

    Isn’t it time to drop the beliefs of some primitive desert tribe and do good because of good itself? And not because someone living behind the clouds threatens you with fire and brimstone? Grow up, mankind is no baby or child anymore; As long you do good because doing bad brings retribution, then you are not really doing good in your mind and you are just a mischievous child, who will await its chances to do bad things when no-one is looking.

    Amor, don’t understand me wrong. I don’t think you are such a mischievous guy, but why not take the (scary) step of getting out of the comfortable “belief” and live your life as a fully developed, moral atheist person? Really that is the next step up the evolutionary ladder or morals!

    Peace and wisdom, my brother.

  3. Hey count. How ya doing pal? Haven’t heard from you in a while. You raised some interesting points here. Let me address them in parts:

    Could you explain the term Atheist Buddhist? From my understanding when I was studying Buddhism (I consider myself a little Buddhist, but you should already know this), it’s not really a religion, but more a way of life. However, the great Buddha, set out standards/guidelines on how to live your life in harmony with the world and nature. Those standards are the cornerstone of Buddhism. Isn’t that similar to Christianity? Christians live (or try to) according to the standards set out in the Bible. I agree, that most persons operate on a pick and choose basis when trying to get their point across, but that can be said for any debate/discussion at all. Right? If I’m in a debate, I will find all the evidence that bests supports my point. I will find the counter arguments that my opponent will use, but I will also look for a counter to their counter. In any debate, it would be counter-intuitive to find points that doesn’t support your claim. I think “living to the will of God” really means following what was written in the Bible (which was written by man, and according to the stories, inspired by God).

    You would think that Archbishop Leonard would know the “will of God” right? True. However, I’m not like most Christians. I disagree with the church’s view on same-sex unions and abortion. Because I’m a Christian doesn’t mean I have to agree with everything that the church says or hold similar views. Christianity doesn’t suppress my individuality. I strongly believe that an individual should do with his/her body what they choose. In the case of an abortion, the decision should be made between the parties involved. In the case of same-sex unions, who am I to tell you who you should or should not have relations with. You might say that goes against what God said, and my response would be: I was made in God’s image (according to the scriptures), and he made me as an autonomous individual with the ability to choose how I want to live my life. I chose the Christian-Buddhist path.

    “There is no God”. Remember when I said earlier that we are all autonomous beings made in God’s image? Well, when you make a decision, you will know in the end if it was a right one or not. God won’t interfere in all the affairs of man because we all have the power to choose. There is one undeniable fact that Christians, Scientists and Atheists agree on and that is there are some things that happen in this world/universe which we simply just cannot explain

    Isn’t it time to drop the beliefs of some primitive desert tribe and do good because of good itself? And not because someone living behind the clouds threatens you with fire and brimstone? Grow up, mankind is no baby or child anymore; As long you do good because doing bad brings retribution, then you are not really doing good in your mind and you are just a mischievous child, who will await its chances to do bad things when no-one is looking.

    “Do good because of good itself” — Intrinsic Good. I totally agree my friend. That is how people should live and operate.

    If you would oblige, why don’t you believe that a “God” exist?

    Wow…this is the longest reply I’ve ever made. It’s practically another post. (covers face)

    • Hi Pops! Thanks for your reply. It is not gonna change my atheism, but I don’t think that was your intention anyhow.

      The way I see it, Buddhism is compatible with every religion or absence-of-religion (such as being an atheist). It is indeed a way of life to increase happiness in this world. And the good thing is that it does not need a god to do that. His teachings are a program to get happy and I can tell you it really works.

      Reading your post, I confess that you are a reasonable guy, but I would not call you a christian (and consider that some sort of praise from me). As journeyofjoy says, there are some basic tenets a christian cannot deny without no longer being a christian. That’s fine with me: the vast majority of christians are indeed not christian at all, but followers of some vague syncretic self invented set of rules they are happy with. Doesn’t that prove that religion is purely human invented in each and every case?

      That is the nice thing about Buddhism: it is blatantly human invented and the Buddha himself said “This is something that worked for me. Try it yourself. See if it works for you”. Adopt, adapt and improve, Pops! It is no better than any other crackpot therapy you can find by the thousands on the internet, only it worked for me and I’m not hurting anyone around me by following some basic principles of Buddhism. That is not something many christians can say, unfortunately.

      And to close this reply: I feel no need to have a god in my life. It’s existence doesn’t explain anything, I don’t need a god to do good and from what I have seen of gods, all of them are crazy and far too much into that control thing.

  4. Great post Pops! And here’s my reaction. Sorry so short, I mean long (smile).

    I really like the choice you made to use (1st Thessalonians) for the sake of this post, because it does truly accurately represent God’s view on this issue. I also applaud you for attempting to engage folks on a controversial and touchy subject. I think you did great. Just a few parts I find difficult to follow.

    You said to Count: “(I strongly believe that an individual should do with his/her body what they choose)”. Please help me reconcile that against this: Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies (1st Corinthians 6:19-20)

    Also: “In the case of an abortion, the decision should be made between the parties involved” Please help me reconcile that against this: Thou shalt not kill (Exodus 20:13)

    Lastly: “In the case of same-sex unions, who am I to tell you who you should or should not have relations with”. Again, your help please: Because of this, God gave them over to shameful lusts. Even their women exchanged natural sexual relations for unnatural ones. In the same way the men also abandoned natural relations with women and were inflamed with lust for one another. Men committed shameful acts with other men, and received in themselves the due penalty for their error (Romans 1:26-27)

    I think you are 100% to say that you have the autonomy and free will to choose to do as you wish with your body (but this is what you had before you exercised that free will and decided to become a follower of Jesus), Because, can’t we argue that the whole premise of being a Christian is accepting Jesus as both Savior AND LORD? And if LORD over your life, shouldn’t what HE thinks become the prevailing conviction governing your heart on these same issues?

    So the next question for me would be, “Has Christ fully conquered your heart?” If He has, these issues will no longer be preferences. Preferences are optional, convictions are not.

    I’d love to hear your reaction and thoughts on what I just said too please. I truly appreciate the invitation to contribute to this. And I would respectfully argue, that for a (Christian), sex is (one) of the greatest acts that man could engage in, THE greatest act being worship.

    For the sake of the length of this reply (so sorry), I’d like to add this link to my Spandex Christianity post which I think would be a much better reply to your friend “count zero” and the issue of differing standards amongst (us) Christians especially concerning things we consider absolutely NON-Negotiable within the Christian faith.

    http://greatjourneyofjoy.com/2013/02/08/if-it-doesnt-fit-spandex-it/

    BTW: thanks again for visiting my blog! I think I’ve made a new friend🙂

    Blessings!
    Marlene

Leave a Reply

