Retirement Sucks!

Image courtesy of kevinroose.com

Wow. Can you believe it’s been a year. Do you know how long it takes to dust off a year’s worth of cobwebs from this blog? OMG🙂

So, a sequence of what has happened in the past year:

  • The breakup
  • Basketball
  • Photography
  • I reopened my blog because I love attention and writing is my catharsis🙂
  • Artist Unveiled

The Breakup

Yes, that Mrs that I always blog about is no longer a part of my life. Sad to say, I was the one that messed up. I can hear you ladies scoffing and thinking in unison “men!”. We’ve been together for a while and a lot of things remind me of her daily. She was more than my partner, she was my muse. We remain close to this day.

Basketball

So my company decided to start a basketball club and enter a league. They had some strict prerequisites:

  1. Tall
  2. Ability to identify a basketball
  3. Ball handling mastery — bouncing the ball once and catching it
  4. Ability to shoot or throw the ball at the backboard.

With those prerequisites, most of the five feet giants in the office signed up. Suffice it to say, we didn’t win a single game! But, we did come really close in the last game of the season; loosing by three points (21:24)🙂

Photography

Photography is fun. I enjoy it immensely, but the economy is a bit harsh now and business is slowing down. I did a wedding the other day and it was a blast. After receiving the photos, the bride said she felt like remarrying. #patonshoulder Oh, you can check out my photography website too: Genas Studios

Blogging

I’ve missed blogging. Sharing my thoughts with like-minded cerebral friends from around the world and having meaningful conversations. I have a question for you guys though – Do you read all the posts from the blogs you subscribe to?? What’s your strategy??

Talent Unveiled

I found this extremely talented writer/poet. Her name is Roxanne. I told her I’m a writer (because everyone knows that if you own a blog, you are a writer…right? Like duh! ;)) and she shared some of her work with me, and so did I — my blog address, and I managed to convince her into letting me share one of her poems with you guys. This piece is entitled ‘Your Love Won’t Leave Me Alone’:

Each day that goes by is a gift bestowed upon me.
But even though I don’t see you, hearing you gives me joy abundantly.
My heart jumps in euphoria
Cuz against you, there is no phobia

I trust you with my heart
I trust you with my mind
I trust you with my whole being
A love like this never will end it seem and no one can intervene

True love waits
True love is patient
Love is kind, love is pure
Love is never insecure
All this we have proven
Many more to prove as time goes by
And believe me it’ll just fly by

No matter where I go, who I’m with
My thoughts of you just out shines it.
My pulse increases….
My heart beats faster….
My legs quiver…
And my eyes water
Just because your love follows me everywhere I go
It just won’t leave me alone.

In the nights when I feel sad
A few tears fall
Then I hug my pillow tightly
Then I picture you holding me
And immediately I fall asleep
I’ve gone off into a sweet bliss
Where there’s only you and I

I awaken, and it’s you on my mind
I promise your love just won’t leave me alone
But I don’t mind
Cuz it’s what brings me through my tough days.

More and better days are coming
We’ll be together for sure

Then I’ll really know why your love hasn’t left me alone!

~ © Roxi 2011

Roxanne

Roxanne

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And that just about wraps it up for this post! Oh, one more thing #scandalROCKS

Thanks for stopping by.

Namaste!!

13 thoughts on “Retirement Sucks!

  1. Welcome back! Really enjoyed reading this update. Been trying to incorporate my personal blog into work/school to ensure I maintain it. Kinda working so far, so I will continue on that path.

Leave a Reply

