Becoming a Better You: Your Perspective

It is not what happens to you that counts as much as how you perceive it. You can either be a victim of your history or a master of your destiny just by changing your perspective. One of the greatest discoveries in human nature is that you change your life by changing your perspectives and attitudes of mind.

— Dr J Demartini

They say everything in life happens for a reason and there is a lesson to be learned from each experience. I’ve had a few hard experiences that caused me to wonder what kind of lesson I could learn from them, but looking back, those experiences contributed to who I am today.

Do you have any similar experience that seemed like hell in the moment, but actually helped you some way or another in your life?

Until next time.

Namaste!

Image via zazenlife.com

9 thoughts on “Becoming a Better You: Your Perspective

      • Hope for the best, prepare for the worst.
        I don’t doubt that are lessons to be learned, but I don’t think “everything happens for a reason”. That’s a human conceit.

      • Jewish by birth and upbringing, agnostic by choice and experience.
        Too much of religion is fouled by rigid dogma. Give me the spirit of the law without the preaching (which Judaism in my experience does well, but still…).

  1. We are the sum of all our past experiences. Some of these may have a more profound effect than others, but I have never seen it happening for a “reason”. What we call “reason” is just our own interpretation afterwards. And I think that is perfectly OK.

  2. Yes, but I’m not a fatalist: I don’t think everything is predestined to occur. I do, however, believe in not repeating errors and trying to look at your own accountability in a situation.

Leave a Reply

