Fear = Ignorance

Fear - Graffiti

Fear is created through the lack of knowledge. Math is not my strongest subject but I tolerate it. I love techie things. If you give me a 300 page book on some techie stuff, I will gladly read it, but give me a 10 page book on some mathematical equation, and I’ll cringe and find all sorts of other important things to do, like dish washing or mowing the lawn🙂

We shy away from the things we fear and embrace the things we love. The fact that others can find great joy doing the things we hate, means that we might be ignorant to that thing.

It’s amazing what we can accomplish when we overcome our fears. Sounds cliché, but isn’t it true? Rock Climbing. Sky Diving. Mountain Climbing. The list is endless. This doesn’t happen overnight though. You have to make a conscious effort to face your fear (or at least try) each day. When you’re faced head on with Mr. Fear, think of all the positive things that could result from you overcoming that fear. Are those things good enough for you to kick Mr. Fear’s ass?

Remember friends, everything happens for a reason. I will never forget the line in Steve Jobs Stanford speech when he said “you can’t connect all the dots looking forward. You can only connect them in retrospect”. When something bad happens to you, all you’re seeing is the pain of the event, but a few years down the line you will look back and say “Oh, that’s why that happened. It makes sense now”.

So my friends, I hope that after reading this you will have the courage to overcome any fear that you may have in your life.

7 thoughts on “Fear = Ignorance

  1. When I was in university I promised myself to do something daily that scared me…well, I have many days to catch up on, lol. Very thought provoking thought, I do agree that ignorance leads to fear and fear to hatred and this is true of so many things in our world. I’m gonna sky dive one day, definitely bunjee jump (over water :D) and maybe run with the bulls, just to be able to laugh fear in the face….make sure u attend my funeral, lol

    • When you’re bungee jumping and your inches away from the water or the bull missed your butt by inches, you will laugh fear in the face and proudly say “I DID THAT!!”😀

    • In psychology, this is referred to as social identity. We naturally think highly of ourselves and create groups based on our similarities and differences, called an in-group and an out-group or “us” and “them”. During Apartheid, the whites considered themselves apart of the in-group. Bonded by their skin color, eye color etc, people in the in-group think highly of themselves and feel superior to people of the out-group.

      The way to combat this unconscious bias is to actively and consciously recognize the bias and fight it. Period.

  2. LITANY AGAINST FEAR

    I must not fear.
    Fear is the mind-killer.
    Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration.
    I will face my fear.
    I will permit it to pass over me and through me.
    And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path.
    Where the fear has gone there will be nothing.
    Only I will remain.

    Bene Gesserit Litany Against Fear – From Frank Herbert’s Dune Book Series
    © 1965 and 1984 Frank Herbert
    Published by Putnam Pub Group
    ISBN: 0399128964

    You may laugh at it, but it has helped me countless times.

  3. Pingback: Fear | Imperial Deltronics

Leave a Reply

