Appetite for Violence

This is kind of similar to a post I did here.

Isn’t it odd how we use violence as a means of entertainment? Back in Pontius Pilate’s era, the Romans marveled at gladiators ripping each other apart. Matadors kill bulls (if they’re lucky). It gets more entertaining when the Matador messes up and the bull sticks his horn up the Matador’s …. you get the point.😀

In hockey, when a fight is started, non-participants go to their box, and the referees allow the fight to continue. How awesome is that? The OFFICIALS allow you to release your frustration on your opponents face. Can you imagine if we were allowed to do that in the workplace??😉😀

Mark Stuart vs Shawn Thornton

I know Pete will hate me for this, but NFL is another brutal sport. Certainly not for people with nimble bones. No wonder the guys have to bench press 1000 lbs a day🙂

Check out this clip on the hardest NFL tackles:

I could continue, but I have to put in some work. So what is it about violence draws in our species? Animals use violence, because well, they’re animals. For them it’s about survival of the fittest.We’ve evolved pass that. I think.

Oh well, let me hear your thoughts on the matter

9 thoughts on “Appetite for Violence

  1. Well, all I can say is it has something to do with morbid curiosity. Why do we all look at an accident? There is some sort of perverse pleasure we take from it. I don’t think it’s good, but I do think it’s built into our DNA for some strange reason!

  2. While we abhor senseless violence, violence in sports? Oh, yeah, bring it on! To hell with boxing; it’s lost it’s luster and appeal to the UFC; I mean, who doesn’t love watching someone catch a flying knee and blood spurting all over the octagon? Ground and pound? Nice… just watch for the triangle choke!

    Bench clearing brawl? Shit yeah – who started it? Now hockey is just inherently violent and all you have to do is watch a game to find out why they fight… but not as much as they used to because some players have been sent to jail for it – but a good hockey fight? Ya gotta love it – two big bruisers on ice skates duking it out – that takes some skill!

    Anyone who has ever played basketball knows how easy it is for a fight to start – just get bridged one time and you’ll find out or elbowed in the face going for rebound – and you know it was deliberate!

    Have some dude throw a fastball at your head at 90mph+ and you’re gonna want to take your bat to his ass (clear the benches, please!).

    All this aside, dude, WE are animals, too, and we’re more violent than any other animal on the planet… because we can think, can have motive and opportunity and, yeah, we can be violent for no good reason at all. How many dudes do you know that got killed over some pussy? An ancient war got started because somebody’s cat got killed – what does this tell you?

  3. You know, I’ve been thinking about this on and off all day.
    I got nothing.
    Love me a good hockey throwdown though. Baseball even more, just to see how a team carries on after 12 guys have been ejected…

  4. Hockey Rocks! We are animals indeed and I’m pretty much tapped out at that too – I am sure I’ll think of something as soon as I hit post tho – it;s like that and then I have to decide whether it is profound enough to add another comment which I usually do even if it is not but as far as the violence – I was gonna say i like to get roughed up a little bit but that is totally inappropriate and – well just to clarify I don;t mean like smacked around cause that sucks anyways I am going to go – I am really off my game but I’ll get it back after the bench clearing brawl or something…..oh..in the END zone…:-)
    Peace🙂

Leave a Reply

