Early Christmas Baking

The wife and I decided to do something different this weekend. We tried our hand at baking (cue ominous music). We both love bread pudding so we tried that. We downloaded the recipe and and went shopping for the ingredients on Saturday.

Bread Pudding

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole milk (or 2 cups half & half)
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar (light or dark, depending on taste preference)
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 cups bread, torn into small pieces (french bread works best)
  • 1/2 cup raisins (optional)
  • 3 teaspoon rum

Everything seemed to be going well. I took a peek into the oven and my oh my it smelt good. Parfait! (Perfect!)

Bread Pudding in Oven

Bread Pudding

 

We felt confident and proud. Our confidence boosted us to try sauce. This should be even easier than the pudding. Right?

Bread Pudding Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 2 Tablespoons butter
  • 1/3 cup granulated white sugar (light brown sugar can be substituted)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 Tablespoon flour
  • dash of salt
  • 3 teaspoon rum
  • 1 egg (don’t quite remember where we saw that but we added it :))

I was assigned the task of slow stirring the sauce mixture over medium heat. I paused for a sec to admire the bread pudding again, then the wife yelled “babes shouldn’t you be stirring?”. I started again and it looked fine. Or so I thought!

 

Bread Pudding Sauce - FAILED!

When I removed it from the pot, that’s what we saw. I said “babes it might still be OK. Try it”. She said….

LOL. At least one thing turned out good. We’ll get that sauce next time 🙂

NEXT – DINNER

We decided to prepare Steamed Fish with a vegetable side dish and Stew Chicken with plain rice and mashed potatoes mixed with sweet corn. We didn’t have any problems with those dishes, so without further ado …

String Beans, Carrots, Broccoli and Sweet Corn

Mashed Potato with Sweet Corn

The Queens Dish

The Kings Dish

Which Dish looks better? If you say The Queens, then we are no longer friends. No pressure or bias 🙂

 

 

6 thoughts on “Early Christmas Baking

  1. I love bread pudding!! And it looks scrumptious….that’s just one of those words you know that paired with it’s noun i.e. scrumptious bread pudding and you smell the pudding, taste the pudding, beeeeeee the pudding. It all looks good ( not the sauce..eh but) colorful, flavorful, etc etc. and I am distracting you so you don’t notice that I didn’t vote…DON’T make me do it NOOOOOOO.. I’ll come back later so I can be anonymous. I already stick out like a turd in a punch bowl. 🙂 Peace

    • Lizzie, I’m telling you. I was the pudding (or should I say the pudding was all over me) 🙂 And I was distracted too! Naughty. Go and vote … for me 🙂

      • I want to be in the pudding – oh wait – that could be ,,yeah. I am hungry and I was thinking I could whip up some bread pudding – it’s highly under rated as a midnight snack – I make it with left over french toast – but I don’t have any of the proper ingredients. If you imply I am naughty…I’m not naughty I am just drawn that way…I mean really AND your poll is rigged, It won;’t let me vote for you lol., I swear I tried it like 15 times. 🙂

      • It is overrated…for women that is, it will go straight to your thighs lizzie. I had some last night just before bed. Yummie!! I probably need to do an audit on the poll 🙂

Leave a Reply

