Back to Reality

Where is all the color.

The place is so gloomy.

But everything else seems to function the same.

Hmm…This requires some getting use to.

 

Hey Grandma. I haven’t seen you in years. What are you doing here?

I live here. She said. In this dull boring place?! I couldn’t live here. It’s seems so lifeless.

You will get use to it. She said. Something got my attention and I glanced away.

When I looked back she was gone.

I feel heavy and weary as if I’m being held down by some gloomy force.

I heard a humming and when I looked around, there was someone in a black robe writing in a book.

What a strange way to dress. I thought.

Hello sir. What’s your name? I asked. Ted Haima. He replied, without looking up at me.

What a strange name. I thought.

Ted Haima said he wanted to show me something so I should follow him. Reluctantly I did.

On our way to – wherever, a lot of people seemed to know him. They all looked at him with fear?

He must be the one that runs this town. I thought. We arrived at an accident scene. It looked awful.

I asked Ted what happened.

He didn’t respond.

I went to have a closer look.

It was … me! How could this be?!

Ted looked up at me. Revealing a skeleton structure where his face should be.

The stick he had in his hand was actually a scythe.

You are …

That means I am …

It can’t be!

Wait, TED HAIMA = I AM DEATH

I woke!

Alive and unscathed!

2 thoughts on “Back to Reality

  1. What was going on in your mind when you wrote this? This part: “Hey Grandma. I haven’t seen you in years. What are you doing here?

    I live here. She said. In this dull boring place?! I couldn’t live here. It’s seems so lifeless.

    You will get use to it. She said. Something got my attention and I glanced away.

    When I looked back she was gone.

    I feel heavy and weary as if I’m being held down by some gloomy force.”

    haunted me …

    • I was thinking about my Grandmother. I didn’t realize it, but I actually miss her. I was also thinking how close we are to death. It can happen in a split second. We should always live our life mindful that death is traveling alongside us. That way, we will be more motivated to get things done in our life. We take a lot of things for granted and don’t realize it until its gone 🙂

Leave a Reply

