Artist Alert: Jane Birkin & Serge Gainsbourg

French is truly the language of love. I am immersing myself into this beautiful language. I’ve changed the language on my browser to French and I listen to French news. I also found some French bloggers out there in blog-sphere: One French Word, French A L.A Cart & Ici on Parle Francais (We Speak French).

(Note to self: Add visit France to bucket list).

I found this song Je T’aime … Moi Non Plus on Guylaine’s music blog GCG Creative Enterprise. The song is a dialogue between two lover during sex.

Jane Birkin & Serge Gainsbourg – Je T’aime … Moi Non Plus

Lyrics:

French

Je t’aime… Moi non plus

(refrain)
Je t’aime, je t’aime
Oh oui je t’aime !

Moi non plus
Oh mon amour

Comme la vague irrésolue

Je vais, je vais et je viens
Entre tes reins
Je vais et je viens
Entre tes reins
Et je me retiens

(refrain)

Tu es la vague, moi l’île nue

Tu vas, tu vas et tu viens
Entre mes reins
Tu vas et tu viens
Entre mes reins
Et je te rejoins

(refrain)

Comme la vague irrésolue

Je vais, je vais et je viens
Entre tes reins
Je vais et je viens
Entre tes reins
Et je me retiens

Tu vas, tu vas et tu viens
Entre mes reins
Tu vas et tu viens
Entre mes reins
Et je te rejoins

(refrain)

L’amour physique est sans issue

Je vais, je vais et je viens
Entre tes reins
Je vais et je viens
Et je me retiens
Non ! Maintenant viens !

English

Je t’aime… Mon non plus

I love you, I love you
Oh, yes I love you!
No longer me
Oh, my love…
Like the undecided wave
I go, I go and I come
Between your back
I go and I come
Between your back
And I hold back.

I love you, I love you
Oh, yes I love you!
no longer me
Oh, my love…
You are the wave, I’m the naked island
You go, you go and you come
Between my back
You go and you come
Between my back
And I rejoin you.

I love you, I love you
Oh, yes I love you!
no longer me
Oh, my love…
Like the undecided wave
I go, I go and I come
Between your back
I go and I come
Between your back
And I hold back.

You go, you go and you come
Between my back
You go and you come
Between my back
And I rejoin you.

I love you, I love you
Oh, yes I love you!
No longer me
Oh, my love…
The physical love is without a way out
I go, I go and I come
Between your back
I go and I come back
And I hold back
No! Now come!

6 thoughts on “Artist Alert: Jane Birkin & Serge Gainsbourg

  1. that makes two of us, i’m obsessed about this language and i was lucky enough to have spent my childhood in the french part of Switzerland. I love this song by the way, good pick ;)

  2. Even in France…at first people were shocked …but that was Gainsbourg…he made many many beautiful songs …but yeah..this one is a keeper! (good job on translation, by the way) some wordplay are difficult to translate…:) Bonne journée et merci pour la mention! :)

Leave a Reply

